Travel Beauty Products

photo

The past week has been a whirlwind of traveling, paint, and family time. I am thrilled to finally be able to say WE GOT THE HOUSE! It became official this morning. This afternoon we are going to start painting, and hopefully by the weekend we can start to move in. My blog might be a little more quiet until September with the house and school starting, but I will try and keep up the best I can.

Instead of a Weekend Wrap-Up I am going to share the beauty products I brought with me on our short vacation to Michigan. I was hopeful we would be spending a lot of time in the sun, but the Upper Peninsula had been cold and cloudy the days before we arrived. Our wishes were fulfilled! We spend almost all our time outside hiking, and swimming. That being said I wore minimal makeup while we were there, mostly just primer and mascara. If you’re interested in learning more about each product click the ‘Continue Reading’ below!

Let’s start with brushes! I brought 3 Sigma brushes; the F80 Flat Kabuki, the E55 Eye Shading, and the E30 Pencil. The Kabuki brush is great for blending out foundation, or in my case a skin corrector. I use the E55 brush to apply color all over my lid. I knew I was going to be keeping things very simple, so I opted to not bring a blending brush. The pencil brush is great for applying color along your lower lash line, which is a simple way to intensify a look without much product or work.

Moving to the right is my Anastasia Brow Wiz in Soft Brown, and Victoria’s Secret So Intense Liquid Liner Pen in Blackest Black. I’ve mentioned my Anastasia Brow Wiz in a previous post, for more on that click here. I got the eyeliner during the VS Semi-Annual Sale. It was $5 or less, so I figured I would try it out. I really wanted to try a felt-tip eyeliner, and so far I am loving this one. I can’t seem to find it on their website, but the store probably still carries it. I actually have been wearing a lot less eyeliner this summer. When I do it’s typically on a night out, so I am not sure on the staying power, but I am happy with the color, and how simple it is to apply.

Next to those is the Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara by Tarte in Black, which I reviewed a bit here, and I am still loving it! The Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm: Elusive, Shade no. 205 is a favorite of mine. It goes on really smooth, has great coverage and staying power, and it smells like mint! The color is pretty true to the packaging. Next to that, an old favorite, Wet n Wild Color Icon Bronzer: Reserve Your Cabana, Shade no. 43A. When I bought this it was a dupe for something, I can’t even remember what now. It has a light sheen and just the right amount of glitter. I am a glitter girl, so I could handle way more glitter, but this is more appropriate for everyday wear. It does not have great staying power, but it’s so dang cheap, I bought mine at Wal-Mart.

Above that is a mini bottle of the Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil Light. I got this smaller bottle in a gift set at Christmas last year. The bottle is now officially gone, and while I haven’t purchased another, I would highly recommend it. This oil is light enough that it can be used during the day as a moisturizer under your makeup. It didn’t leave my skin feeling too oily, just moisturized.

Above that, my favorite face wash ever, the Philosophy Purity Made Simple, one step facial cleanser. It removes all makeup, but is still gentle and refreshing. Above that is my Mary Kay Foundation Primer Sunscreen. My cousin Patty sells Mary Kay and has me using a few of their products. This primer has an SPF 15 in it, which is what really sold me. It goes on smooth, and after you rub it in, feels like you aren’t wearing anything. I have been using this product for a year now and have yet to get a sunburn while wearing it. Of course if you are going to be in the sun all day you will want to wear a sunscreen, but for daily use I love this product. I typically don’t wear anything over it, but it also helps my foundation to stay put all day.

The Garnier Ultra-Lift Transformer Anti-Age Skin Corrector was a sample I got at CVS. It has an SPF of 20 in it. When it comes out of the tube it is white, and then as you blend it into your skin it ‘blends to your skin tone’. Well, that’s not totally true for me. It becomes a bit too orange for my skin. I also feel that it doesn’t blend very well. I only wore it one night, but my skin has been clear enough that I didn’t really feel like I needed it again. I wouldn’t recommend this product, but if you can get a sample it might be worth trying.

Not pictured is my NUDE’tude palette by The Balm. My favorite shades in the palette are Stand-Offish, and Sultry. I’ve hit pan on both. The packaging is a bit torn up because of all the love it’s received, which is why I didn’t take a photo it.

If I were going on a longer vacation I would bring more options, but as I said before this trip was mostly spent outside so these things were certainly enough to get me through our 4 days there. Hopefully sometime this week I can share more details and photos from our trip. I’ve also got my first music interview completed, now I just have to write the post!

Have a happy week, especially to all my friends going back to work after summer vacation!
Sweet Hannah Pea

Leave a Reply

