Weekend Wrap-Up: 4th of July

image (1)
image (2)

What a wonderful holiday weekend! On Friday I had breakfast with my dear friend Zach. We went on a little walk downtown Waterloo, and stopped in a park to chat for a bit. That afternoon I picked up Jessica and we met Becca at the Cedar Falls Skate Park for the 2nd Annual 4th of July Skate Park show. It was a blast, and supported a great cause this year! The proceeds from the event went to Girls Rock Iowa City, an organization that encourages young girls to be involved in music. Not to mention there were several awesome bands; Strong City, Lipstick Homicide, So Happy To Be Here, and Lover’s Speed to name a few. Around 10 we headed over to Octopus to catch Holy White Hounds, and Dylan Sires & Neighbors. Despite missing 80/35 in Des Moines, I think the Cedar Valley had an equally awesome live music line-up on the 4th!

image (3)
image (4)
image (5)
image (6)
image (7)
image (8)
image (9)

On Saturday we went to a cookout at my parents house. Marie, my Mom’s neighbor and good friend, made homemade shortcakes, with homemade whip cream, a favorite of mine! On Sunday Audrey and I went to see Deliver Us From Evil. I thought it was terrifying, and according to Audrey it was “alright”. Went spent much of the weekend lounging as we were both exhausted. Audrey worked all day on the 4th, and I partied all day.

image (11)
image (12)
image (13)

I hope you all enjoyed your weekend as much as we did. Tonight Audrey is a featured performer at Ink! Performance Slam at Octopus. She’s playing her new banjo!! I might be more excited than she is. Tomorrow I am going berry picking, and on Thursday I am off to Clear Lake with my Dad to start learning to sail! This week on the blog I will be sharing some of my favorite beauty products, and a little garden update.
Also a big shout to readers Burton and Chloe! They tried the Pork Fajita Salad recipe and reported it a tasty success. They’re getting married next weekend, so congratulations in advance!

Leave a Reply

