In Review: Dry Shampoo

Let’s get real, I hate showering. No, really. I hate it. You know some people say that, and then they get in the shower and they are all “ahhhh”, not me. Even in the shower, not having a good time. It’s part laziness, part sensitive skin. I stay pretty clean as I am pretty low active, and if I do get smelly, I shower, I’m not THAT gross. I’d say I wash my hair every 3 to 4 days, which would absolutely not be possible were it not for dry shampoo.

photo 2

In general this will be a review of my favorite dry shampoo, Batiste. But, here’s a little backstory on my dry shampoo experiences. If you’ve never heard of or used dry shampoo, it is an aerosol powder that you spray on the roots of your hair to absorb excess oil.

I started using dry shampoo about 5 years ago. The first can I ever bought was Psssssst! My Mom had said the brand was around when she was young, so I thought why not! I like Psssssst!, but the smell is pretty aesosol-y and it leaves your hair very white. To use dry shampoo you spray the dry shampoo onto your roots, let it absorb for a minute or two, and then gently comb the product through your hair. With that, the color of the powder should basically disappear.

You can buy Batiste at Walmart, Walgreens, ULTA, and probably a bunch of other places. It costs anywhere from $6.00 to $8.00. You can also buy it in travel size cans, but don’t try and bring it on plane, cause that’s a no-no. In addition to being a great product, the packaging is awesome. Batiste comes in many scents, and colors. Yes, colors! Some very smart person realized you could tint the power to basic hair colors, that way your hair looks less white, and dull. I’ve seen Batiste in brown, blonde, and red.

Below I have made a list of the dry shampoos I have used before, along with the prices listed for them on Google. The reason I don’t like many of them is because after about 5 hours your hair is greasy again.

TRESemme FreshStart: $5.99

Not Your Mother’s – Clean Freak: $5.99

Dove Hair Therapy Refresh + Care: $3.49

Psssssst! Instant: $7.00

TIGI Catwalk Session Series: $19.95

Many dry shampoos promise volume, and shine, but thus far I’ve not found one that actually does much of that. Batiste makes my hair look, feel, and smell clean. My typical hair routine is as follows; wash on day one and leave my hair down with no product, day two is the best day for curls or styling if you want and I might use a little dry shampoo, day three I use dry shampoo and can still leave my hair down if I want, and by day four I have to use dry shampoo to not look like a grease ball and I always put my hair up because it is usually pretty flat and lifeless by this point.

photo 1

Allowing your hair to release it’s natural oils is healthier for your hair than washing everyday. I often hear girls say their hair gets way to greasy to not wash it everyday. Your hair most likely just needs some time to adjust to not having to release all that oil to keep it healthy. Go on a camping trip, perfect excuse to not wash your hair for a couple days. Everyone’s hair is different and reacts to products differently, so if Batiste doesn’t work for you, that’s not to say your hair will never look so fresh n so clean clean when using dry shampoo.

One last tip, don’t touch your hair. Seriously. When I get nervous I touch my hair a bunch, and by the end of the night I am an oily mess. Same goes for your face. Your hands are oily, and probably a little dirty no matter how many times you wash them, so just.. keep your hands away from your head.

3 thoughts on “In Review: Dry Shampoo

  1. I finally bought some dry shampoo.I still wash my hair every day but have been washing it at night to save myself some time in the morning. My hair is sort of greasy by the morning which is why I got the dry shampoo. I got Not Your Mother’s. It gives me great volume but like you said, half way through the day and my hair is looking greasy. I’ll definitely try batiste next.

    Like

Leave a Reply

